The Switch from Canon to Nikon is Almost Complete

AHL - San Antonio Rampage's Greg Rallo and Hamilton Bulldogs' Joonas Nattinen

San Antonio Rampage's Greg Rallo takes down Hamilton Bulldogs' Joonas Nattinen. (Darren Abate/pressphotointl.com)
Nikon D3; Nikkor 300/2.8 AF-S

To be honest, the switch is actually complete. I just have a few more items to get to finish out my Nikon collection, and my bag will be full, but for now I’m still borrowing a couple things from friends, namely a 70-200 VR and a flash. I have the rest, though. My second D3 body arrived today, and I shot hockey tonight with both of them.

The two D3 cameras are about 50,000 units apart in serial numbers, but for some reason, they shoot somewhat differently. The older camera handles better, which I thought was strange, as it also has a lot more pops on the shutter. Like, five time more. But, the controls and shutter release is more firm, and the image in the viewfinder is brighter and more neutral than the younger body, which has a warm tone to the pentaprism for some reason. Did Nikon switch components somewhere in the D3 production run? Does anyone know?

I am more happy with the switch to Nikon with every assignment. I find that the autofocus is more accurate on my D3’s than was any Canon I ever owned. I’m not saying Nikon is better, or whatever, but to each his own, and it seems that the Nikons are better-suited to me and my shooting style. I sure like their zoom lenses better, that’s for sure. I never liked Canon’s zooms, except for the 16-35/2.8L II, which was awesome. The Canon 70-200/2.8L IS was a complete dog for sports action. AF was never accurate. Good riddance to it.

So no, my bag holds two D3 bodies, a 17-35/2.8 D, an 80-200/2.8 D, and a 300/2.8 AF-S (which is a tank). I had a 28-70/2.8 D but I sent it back to KEH because I found that they had severely over-rated its condition; the thing wouldn’t even AF to infinity if it was zoomed out to 70mm. I’m still debating whether to order another one or to instead replace that focal length coverage with fast primes. With two bodies, I could probably keep the 17-35 on one and then have a 50/1.4 or 85/1.4 on the other. Maybe I’ll order a D800 when they ship and just have three bodies on me. Yeah, like a “real” photojournalist. Heh.

~ by peakaction on March 29, 2012.

One Response to “The Switch from Canon to Nikon is Almost Complete”

  1. im considering a nikon switch too, after quite a few years with canon. im not comparign the two brands but i think nikon has a particular model that suits me better and is more affordable than the similar canon

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

