The Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.

Yes, Texas. I didn’t go to Scotland, although I would welcome that trip. This was a less expensive excursion.

Le called early this morning – well, early for me, anyway – and asked if I’d like to go to the Scottish Highland Games in Helotes. It’s an annual fair, and I’ve always meant to check it out but have never gotten around to it. I decided it was about time. Two bucks to park, ten to get in, not bad. At first all I could see were vendor booths, but once we got a little farther in to the grounds, there was more variety. Vendors, food, a lot of artists performing their crafts, and clan booths, which I thought was interesting. I guess once can stop by these booths to find out about their heritage? I didn’t feel much like talking today, so I didn’t ask. Just wanted to push the little black button. So I did.

I don’t think I was shooting very well today; my timing seemed off and I was being lazy. I think I got a couple of at-least decent shots though. Here are a few of them. The funny one is at the end. I count at least three easy dirty jokes in the shot.

All photos made with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II and a Carl Zeiss 85/1.4 ZE or Zeiss 50/1.4 ZE lens. Click the photo for full size view (recommended).

Traditional dress was a theme of the day.

Traditional dress was a theme of the day.

Spectators watch as a man participates in the hammer throw.

Spectators watch as a man participates in the hammer throw.

The Monk and the Bear

The Monk and the Bear

A lone piper plays on top of the Lion & Rose double decker bus

A lone piper plays on top of the Lion & Rose double decker bus

Pipers tune their instruments at the Scottish Highland Games

Pipers tune their instruments at the Scottish Highland Games

Pipers play a tune at the Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.

Pipers play a tune at the Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.

I don't know how heavy it was, but judging from the grunts coming out of these guys, it was heavy enough.

I don't know how heavy it was, but judging from the grunts coming out of these guys, it was heavy enough.

Great costumes were on display at the Games

Great costumes were on display at the Games

An American Civil War enthusiast explains a period firearm to a young man at the Scottish Highland Games fair.

An American Civil War enthusiast explains a period firearm to a young man at the Scottish Highland Games fair.

Detail of an American Civil War era musket

Detail of an American Civil War era musket

I can't remember what this guy was selling, but he had an interesting face... So I shot him.

I can't remember what this guy was selling, but he had an interesting face... So I shot him.

There were helms-a-plenty

There were helms-a-plenty

Traditional eats were to be had... For a price.

Traditional eats were to be had... For a price.

The very nice lady who sold me a shepherd's pie.

The very nice lady who sold me a shepherd's pie.

This is what a twelve dollar lunch looks like at a fair.

This is what a twelve dollar lunch looks like at a fair.

Two men converse in front of the Clan Henderson booth at the Scottish Highland Games fair in Helotes, Texas.

Two men converse in front of the Clan Henderson booth at the Scottish Highland Games fair in Helotes, Texas.

This nice lady gave me a tee shirt. She also had great-looking jewelry.

This nice lady gave me a tee shirt. She also had great-looking jewelry.

A young man practices his caber tossing in a field at the Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.

A young man practices his caber tossing in a field at the Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.

Winner of the Poorest Sign Placement Award. Clan Cumming – putting up with your dirty jokes since 1326.

Winner of the Poorest Sign Placement Award. Clan Cumming – putting up with your dirty jokes since 1326.

Copyright ©Darren Abate. All rights reserved. Do not use without permission. Copyright infringement will be prosecuted.

editorial photographer in san antonio
editorial stock photos

~ by peakaction on April 6, 2009.

8 Responses to “The Scottish Highland Games in Helotes, Texas.”

  1. love that caber tossing shot, the event looks better than the scottish games i went to in scotland, i.e, better weather and food!
    have you got the dvd ‘clan cumming vol 3′ ;)

  2. Did you see the Clans Gone Wild booth as well?

    Hilarious– even more so knowing this happened in Helotes. I can see all the rednecks out there–“Boy, why you wearin’ a dress?”

  3. i don’t think you were off, brother. i loved checking out this coverage. then again, what does the opinion of a working photographer mean in the realm of the “web experts” anyway?

    those two lenses you used are the only ones i’m using these days as well.

  4. Thanks bro. I only take the Zeiss glass off my 5dm2 when forced, kicking and screaming.

  5. @Paul: …and that’s why there was a Confederate Heritage booth out there as well. ;-)

  6. @Christian: The Texas Scottish Games looks Better then the Scottish Scottish games?! With better food? Don’t tell me such things!

  7. Darren these pics are great! I am the President of the San Antonio Highland Games and I would love to talk to you about your work. Jenni May-Dennis – sa.HighlandGames@yahoo.com

  8. I MET A GROUP OF PEOPLE AT THIS YEARS FOUNDERS DAY AT ALAMO PLAZA. I AM WORKING ON A VERY AMBITIOUS PROJECT. THE GREATER SAN ANTONIO SPORTS MUSEUM AND LEARNING CENTER.I WOULD LIKE TO CONTACT SOMEONE FROM THE HIGHLAND GAMES, TO PUT TOGETHER A DOCUMENTARY AND INTERVIEW THE PARTICIPANTS ETC. I PRODUCED RADIO AND TV WHEN I LIVED IN NEW YORK. I MOVED HERE 8YRS AGO WHEN I BECAME A GRANDFATHER.I’VE HAD SEVERAL PHOTO EXHIBITS IN THE LAST TWO YEARS IN SAN ANTONIO. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR KIND COOPERATION. ALL THE BEST , MEL FELDMAN

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

